On September 5, an incomplete round-the-world expedition team departed for the next destination, Lisbon, the capital of Portugal. The skipper of the trimaran Stanislav Berezkin has stayed in Vigo to finish repairs at the shipyard, while Eugene Kovalevskiy and Julia Kalyuzhnaya crossed the Portuguese border to hold official meetings with consular representatives and geographical communities there.
In Lisbon the expedition team consisting of the head of the expedition Evgeny Kovalevskiy and the head of the Coastal Center Julia Kalyuzhnaya was met by the representative of Rossotrudnichestvo and the Counselor of the Russian Embassy in the Portuguese Republic Vladimir Yaroshevsky. Vladimir showed Eugene and Yulia the iconic places of the city – Cape of Roca, Jeronimos Monastery, Torri de Belém Tower.
The Cape of Rock is the western tip of Eurasia. It is a rocky, precipitous shore rising 140 meters above the Atlantic Ocean.
The Monastery of Geronimos was founded by King Henry the Navigator in 1450 in honor of Vasco da Gama’s discovery of the sea route to India. It was here that Vasco da Gama and his companions spent the night before sailing in prayer. Geronimos was the resting place of the Portuguese discoverer.
The discovery of the sea route to the Indies was not the only major event that marked the construction of the monastery. In 1515-1525, Fort Torri de Belém was built on the Tagus River in honor of Vasco da Gama’s voyage.
On September 6 and 7, the Embassy and Geographic Society are scheduled to meet in Lisbon. The Coastal Center is keeping up to date.